Oak Bluffs voters went for change at their town election Thursday, approving a $13.3 million plan to rebuild the town hall and voting in newcomer Ryan Ruley as a town selectman.


Oak Bluffs voters spoke their mind on money matters in the ballot box Thursday, approving overrides for the town operating budget and a new $8.3 million fire station. But an override for the $6.8 million project to rebuild the town hall failed. Elections were also held in Edgartown and West Tisbury.



The Oak Bluffs annual town election is active this year with four key contests. Five candidates are running for two seats on the board of selectmen; three candidates are running for one seat on the school committee; two candidates are running for a seat on the water commission; and two candidates are competing for town moderator.

The election is next Thursday at the town public library. Polling hours are 10 a.m. to 7 p.m.


Kerry Scott, the incumbent selectman who campaigned for reelection
on a platform of continued reform and openness in town government,
easily defeated challenger Mac Starks during the annual town elections
yesterday to win a second three-year term on the five-member board.

Ms. Scott received a total of 608 votes; Mr. Starks received 293

Total turnout on a rainy, windswept day was 972, or about 30 per
cent of the registered voters.


In Oak Bluffs, ‘a Lot of Work' Lies Ahead as Town Tries
to Heal Rifts from Election

Stay in Commission, Says Record Vote

Gazette Senior Writer

Marking history and closing one of the most divisive chapters in the
annals of the town, a record number of Oak Bluffs voters went to the
polls this week and said no to pulling out of the Martha's
Vineyard Commission.

Voters in Oak Bluffs, acting decisively yesterday, stared down at a seven-way race for two seats on the board of selectmen and put their pencil marks solidly behind Roger Wey and Greg Coogan.

Way ahead of the pack, Mr. Wey, the incumbent, pulled down 712 votes, winning a sixth term on the board. Mr. Coogan came in with 638 ballots to join Mr. Wey on the board. A total of 1,451 voters cast ballots, 45 per cent of those registered.