Three candidates are running for one three-year seat on the Oak Bluffs select board. The Gazette emailed questions to the candidates. Responses appear in alphabetical order.


Political newcomer Emma Green-Beach and incumbent Jason Balboni were elected to the Oak Bluffs select board Thursday.


Oak Bluffs voters went for change at their town election Thursday, approving a $13.3 million plan to rebuild the town hall and voting in newcomer Ryan Ruley as a town selectman.


Oak Bluffs voters spoke their mind on money matters in the ballot box Thursday, approving overrides for the town operating budget and a new $8.3 million fire station. But an override for the $6.8 million project to rebuild the town hall failed. Elections were also held in Edgartown and West Tisbury.



The Oak Bluffs annual town election is active this year with four key contests. Five candidates are running for two seats on the board of selectmen; three candidates are running for one seat on the school committee; two candidates are running for a seat on the water commission; and two candidates are competing for town moderator.

The election is next Thursday at the town public library. Polling hours are 10 a.m. to 7 p.m.


Kerry Scott, the incumbent selectman who campaigned for reelection
on a platform of continued reform and openness in town government,
easily defeated challenger Mac Starks during the annual town elections
yesterday to win a second three-year term on the five-member board.

Ms. Scott received a total of 608 votes; Mr. Starks received 293

Total turnout on a rainy, windswept day was 972, or about 30 per
cent of the registered voters.