Chilmark voters re-elected Jan Buhrman to the board of health and approved 10 spending questions on a lengthy ballot at their annual town election Wednesday. Voters also elected Janet Weidner town moderator in a special election ballot.

Ten ballot questions on spending were easily approved. — Mark Alan Lovewell

In the lone contested race of the year, Ms. Buhrman, who owns Kitchen Porch catering, was reelected to a fifth three-year term on the board of health over challenger Curtis L. Cetrulo, a retired physician. Ms. Buhrman has served on the board since 2006.

In the runup to the election yard signs for both candidates dotted lawns and corners across town.

The tally was 198-100.

All other races were uncontested.

Ten ballot questions exempting spending from the state tax cap were easily approved.

Question one, which sought funding for a new fire station and EMS building, passed 247 to 46. The $11 million construction project was unanimously approved by voters at town meeting Monday.

In questions two and three, voters approved a general override for the up-Island regional school district and Martha’s Vineyard regional high school fiscal year budgets. Question two passed 265 to 31 and question three was approved 251 to 42.

Seven additional spending articles for improvements at the Chilmark and West Tisbury schools passed easily.

Four seats were decided by write-in votes because there were more open seats than candidates on the ballot.

On the planning board, Hugh Weisman was elected to a five-year term with two write-in votes. Two open three-year seats on the finance advisory committee were won by Don Leopold, who received 24 write-in votes, and Bruce Golden who received 18 write-in votes.

Thomas Ruimerman was elected surveyor of wood, lumber and bark with three write-in votes.

On the special election ballot, Janet Weidner was elected to a one-year term for moderator with 280 votes. She replaces longtime town moderator Everett Poole, who retired this spring.

Turnout was healthy for a town election with only one contested race. A total of 301 voters cast ballots in the annual election, about 28 per cent of 1,068 registered voters. In the special election 296 ballots were cast of 1,066 eligible voters.

In Edgartown, where there are roughly 3,000 registered voters, only 35 more people cast ballots.

Elected without contest were:

William Rossi, selectman, 244 votes.

Leonard Jason Jr., board of assessors, 273 votes.

Vicki Jamieson Divoll, finance advisory committee, 239 votes.

Pamela S. Goff, land bank commission, 256 votes.

Peter B. Cook, planning board, 236 votes.

Mitchell Posin, planning board, 256 votes.

Jane D. Kaplan, library trustee, 260 votes.

Laurisa D. Rich, cemetery commission, 258 votes.

Keith L. Emin, tree warden, 258 votes.

Julianna M. Flanders, fence viewer, 264 votes.

Marshall E. Carroll 3rd, constable, 266 votes.