A field of eight 12-metre sailboats wrapped up three days of racing Sunday with an awards ceremony at the Edgartown Yacht Club.

Courageous, the boat which captured the America’s Cup in 1974 and 1977, won the modern division of the annual 12-metre regatta, prevailing in two of the five races scored, and placing second in the other three.

Freedom, skippered by Charles Robertson was second in the five race series, and Intrepid, with Jack Curtin in charge, was third. All three boats represented the New York Yacht Club, as they did when they raced for the America’s Cup.

“These guys are all passionate about the sport,” said John Alexander, who co-skippered the winning boat with John Glasscock. “These are the American icons when it comes to sailing, and everybody feels like they sort of can’t believe they get to do this.”

After some spirited sailing Friday and Saturday, light air plagued the racing Sunday, with one of two scheduled races cancelled when no boats could finish in the allotted time. Several boats anchored at one point during the race to keep from being swept off course by the current.

“We learned a lot about anchoring today,” Mr. Glasscock said with a laugh. “It’s really all about the people. We had a great time here.”

In the traditional division, Columbia, sailed by Alain and Dan Hanover, was the winner. In 1958, Columbia was the first 12-metre to win the America’s Cup.

American Eagle, with co-skippers Cindy Alten-DeLotto and Jeff Randall representing the Edgartown Yacht Club was second. Weatherly, driven by Andrew Greene, also representing the home club, was third.

In the Grand Prix class, New Zealand, skippered by Gunther Buerman was best with three wins in four races scored. Laura was second with Kip Curran at the helm.