Kate Hancock, James B. Richardson 3rd, and S. Christopher Scott, three Islanders with longstanding commitments to history and the arts, are this year’s recipients of the Martha’s Vineyard Medal from Martha’s Vineyard Museum.

The medals will be awarded at the museum’s annual meeting on Monday, August 14 at 5 p.m. on the lawn of the Marine Hospital. A reception will follow the event, which takes place rain or shine.

Ms. Hancock is the gallery manager at Featherstone Center for the Arts, and has been a theatre stage manager and production supervisor for more than 35 years, overseeing performances at the Martha’s Vineyard Playhouse and the high school. She has also written a novel about a Chappaquiddick farm, written lyrics and scripts for plays, and enjoys teaching and performing for elementary school students. She is also a volunteer for the museum, including serving as a docent for the museum’s Conversations program, which presents monthly programs at Island senior centers.

Mr. Richardson has Island roots dating back to 1840s, and his family built the Lawton cottage, the first wooden cottage in the Camp Ground. He is curator emeritus of anthropology at Carnegie Museum of Natural History and professor emeritus of anthropology at the University of Pittsburgh, and has participated in and directed archaeological investigations around the world. He has been involved with the museum since the 1940s, when he worked as a teenager with Gale Huntington, and has served several terms as museum board member. He is chairman of the museum’s collections committee, and also presents archaeological programs around the Island.

Mr. Scott retired earlier this year after 25 years as executive director of the Martha’s Vineyard Preservation Trust. He is involved in a number Island organizations, and is currently treasurer of the Martha’s Vineyard Scottish Society. He’s also served on the Striped Bass and Bluefish Derby committee and the Edgartown Library Building Committee. He is involved in the Preservation Trust’s plan to renovate the former Carnegie Library in downtown Edgartown and turn the building into an Island heritage center.

The MV Medal is awarded annually to community leaders with outstanding commitment to Island history, arts, and culture.