An opening on the Martha’s Vineyard Airport Commission has attracted strong interest.

Following Peter Bettencourt’s resignation from the commission in August, eight candidates have applied for the appointment to carry out his term, which ends in 2016. The airport commission is appointed by the Dukes County Commission.

The vacancy comes amid a months-long dispute over the seven-member airport commission’s legal independence from the county commission and other internal conflicts.

Mr. Bettencourt said in his letter of resignation that he was no longer able to devote the time required to be a commissioner.

The county commission is scheduled to review the applications and possibly vote on the appointment at a meeting on Sept. 17, county manager Martina Thornton said this week.

The eight applicants are Myron Garfinkle, James A. Graham Jr., Jeffrey (Skipper) Manter 3rd, Benjamin Hall Jr., Robert H. Rosenbaum, Beth Toomey, Geofrey Wheeler and Kirstin Zern.

Two applicants have recent or existing ties to the airport. Mr. Hall served on the airport commission until April, but was not reappointed for a second three-year term. Ms. Zern currently serves on the airport’s master plan committee.

Many of the applicants have extensive experience in the aeronautical industry, which Ms. Thornton said is often the case. There are no requirements for joining the commission, she said, but at least one member must have aeronautical experience.

She said there were more applicants than in past years, but that the number often varies.