Among the old landmarks of Vineyard Haven, the most interesting one is the old mill; first built “up island,” then moved to Edgartown, and finally to Vineyard Haven to the spot where Association Hall now stands. Later, it was purchased by Dea. Tristram Luce and moved to the land where Capt. Owen Tilton’s house now stands. In 1883 it was purchased by Col. Carey and retained its individuality till 1886, when Major Carey had it moved to its present position; and it’s now a component part of the Major’s cottage, - and the old mill has lost its identity. No doubt it has stood the storms and winds of half a century.

Another interesting landmark is Mrs. Lee’s cottage, a relic of primeval America. The rafters adjoining the walls are huge pieces of timber, petrified with age. One beholds arnis in great profusion on the front and sides of the cottage, which with its quaint and diminutive aspect would make a picturesque scene for an artist.

Across the street, a few rods to the north, stands Mrs. Richardson’s cottage, which is similar in many respects to the one previously named.

The summer guests have established a landmark of their own - the beach, where on every pleasant morning about 11 o’clock may be seen scores of people, big folks and little folks, enjoying a salt water bath. Many sit on the shore and watch the bathers.

Vineyard Haven is becoming more popular every year as a summer resort, and many noted people have been here this summer of ‘93.