The citizens of Edgartown, opposed to the further extension of slavery in this country, assembled at the Town Hall on Friday evening last.

E. Marchant was chosen Chairman, and Henry A. Coffin, Esq., Secretary.

The following gentlemen were elected Delegates to the Worcester Convention, to nominate candidates for State Officers, viz: - John Vinson, J.R. Dillingham, Harrison P. Mayhew.

The following gentlemen were chosen subtitutes, viz: Lloyd Daggett, Samuel Osborn, Jr., Zalmon Stuart.

After listening to eloquent and interesting speeches from Hon. David Davis, Charles J. Barney, Esq., and Ichabod N. Luce, Esq., the meeting was adjourned to Saturday evening, Sept. 22d, at 7 o'clock.