Perseid Meteor Shower

The Perseid meteor shower, a favorite astronomical event of the summer, will take place on the evenings of August 11 through 13. Pick your night. Unfortunately, a gibbous moon will dominate the early morning sky. Whenever the moon shows up, meteors become less visible.

Moon and Planets

The crescent moon appears near Mars and Venus in the mornings ahead. The moon first appears above Mars tomorrow morning, early. The time to look is well before 5 a.m. The moon and Mars are in Taurus.

In Vineyard Skies

Sunrise Sunset

Fri., Sept. 25 6:31 6:34

Sat., Sept. 26 6:32 6:32

Sun., Sept. 27 6:33 6:30

Mon., Sept. 28 6:34 6:29

Tues., Sept. 29 6:35 6:27

Wed., Sept. 30 6:36 6:25

Thurs., Oct. 1 6:37 6:24

Fri., Oct. 2 6:39 6:22

Jupiter and Moon

In Vineyard Skies

Sunrise Sunset

Fri., Sept. 18 6:24 6:46

Sat., Sept. 19 6:25 6:44

Sun., Sept. 20 6:26 6:43

Mon., Sept. 21 6:27 6:41

Tues., Sept. 22 6:28 6:39

Wed., Sept. 23 6:29 6:37

Thurs., Sept. 24 6:30 6:36

Fri., Sept. 25 6:31 6:34

Autumn

In Vineyard Skies

Sunrise Sunset

Fri., Sept. 4 6:10 7:10

Sat., Sept. 5 6:11 7:08

Sun., Sept. 6 6:12 7:07

Mon., Sept. 7 6:13 7:05

Tues., Sept. 8 6:14 7:03

Wed., Sept. 9 6:15 7:02

Thurs., Sept. 10 6:16 7:00

In Vineyard Skies

Sunrise Sunset

Fri., August 28 6:02 7:22

Sat., August 29 6:03 7:20

Sun., August 30 6:05 7:18

Mon., August 31 6:06 7:17

Tues., Sept. 1 6:07 7:15

Wed., Sept. 2 6:08 7:13

Thurs., Sept. 3 6:09 7:12

In Vineyard Skies

Sunrise Sunset

Fri., August 21 5:55 7:33

Sat., August 22 5:56 7:31

Sun., August 23 5:57 7:29

Mon., August 24 5:58 7:28

Tues., August 25 5:59 7:26

Wed., August 26 6:00 7:25

Thurs., August 27 6:01 7:23

Fri., August 28 6:02 7:22

Crescent Moon

Temperatures

Temperature: Precip.

Day Max. Min. Inches.

Fº Fº

Feb. 20 47 23 .00

Feb. 21 32 27 .00

Feb. 22 40 27 .00

Feb. 23 42 28 .23

Feb. 24 37 20 .00

Feb. 25 36 23 .00

Feb. 26 40 24 .00

Water temperature in Edgartown harbor: 41º F.

New Moon Tides

The tides this week and through the weekend will be abnormally high and low, due to the nearing new moon phase. The moon was in perigee on Wednesday and is in the new moon phase today.

Moon and Planets

Tonight’s thin crescent moon appears low in the southwestern sky. Look to the right of the moon and you’ll see the brilliant planet Venus, accompanied by two fainter planets, Mars and Saturn.

Pages