Moon and Jupiter

On Sunday night the first quarter moon appears next to the bright planet Jupiter, high in the southern sky. The two are in the zodiacal constellation Pisces. The show continues for another night, on Monday night, when the two appear close together, though the moon will appear to have passed by and to the east of the planet.

Moon and Venus

In the coming week, the moon will appear beside the brightest planet. Venus is high in the southwest in the early evening. There is no mistaking this lovely bright planet against a backdrop of the colors of twilight.

Full Moon

The gibbous moon dominates our evening sky this weekend. Every night it increases in brightness, as more and more of the moon is lit by the sun. Full moon is when the whole side of the moon facing us is lit.

Moon and Planets

Tonight’s gibbous moon appears near the bright red planet Mars. The two are in the zodiacal constellation Leo, a constellation we usually associate with spring and early summer. Mars rises first before 9 p.m., followed by the moon; but the best view of them as a pair will be closer to 10 p.m. or later when they are higher in the east.

Crescent Moon and Planets

The crescent moon appears in our evening sky this weekend, and in the nights beyond. Tonight the moon appears underneath the bright planet Venus, and it gets even better tomorrow night when the two are closer.

All Eyes on Mars

Astronomers are focusing much attention on the red planet Mars these days. Tomorrow Mars is in opposition or at its closest approach to the earth in two years. The planet is 62.6 million miles away.

Moon

A gibbous moon appears near the bright planet Saturn on Saturday night. The two rise in the eastern sky after 9 p.m. The bright star Spica, in the zodiacal constellation Virgo, is nearby. The three celestial objects form a triangle. The moon is roughly 225,000 miles away, Saturn is 837 million miles away and Spica is over 250 light years away.

Jupiter and Venus

You can’t miss them. Jupiter and Venus, the two bright planets high in the western sky after sunset, have started to part company.

Moon and Planets

Sunrise Sunset

Fri., March 23 6:40 6:56

Sat., March 24 6:38 6:57

Sun., March 25 6:37 6:58

Mon., March 26 6:35 7:00

Tues., March 27 6:33 7:01

Wed., March 28 6:32 7:02

Thurs., March 29 6:30 7:03

Fri., March 30 6:28 7:04

Moon and Planets

Planets

Sunrise Sunset

Fri., March 30 6:28 7:04

Sat., March 31 6:26 7:05

Sun., April 1 6:25 7:06

Mon., April 2 6:23 7:07

Tues., April 3 6:21 7:08

Wed., April 4 6:20 7:09

Thurs., April 5 6:18 7:10

Fri., April 6 6:16 7:12

Planets

The two brightest planets in our western sky, Venus and Jupiter are parting company. Venus is high in the western sky, while Jupiter is well below. Two weeks ago, the two planets were close neighbors.

Pages